rsnation

rsnation

Musical Gamer of Engineering

Gender: Male
Looking For: Female
Age: 27
Palo Alto, CA
Ethnicity: Inter-racial
Level of education:
Have Children: No
Alcohol use: Socially
Religion: Agnostic
Political: Middle of the road
Profile Photo
1 of 4
 

My Description:

Hi, I'm John! I just graduated from Stanford with a mechanical engineering degree, and will be finishing up my Master's there by the end of the year.

1. I'm a musician. A pretty solid one. I've played the trumpet for a decade at this point, and love to play in all sorts of different genres, from jazz to classical to blues to funk to latin to rock. I can handle both improvised and written music, and can play really high and loud if I want to, so I'll knock your socks off figuratively AND literally. So if you ever need a trumpeter for a gig, want to jam sometime, or just would like to listen, hit me up!

I also quite enjoy singing (mainly to myself). I'm not nearly as good at that though, so if you'd like a serenade, I'd suggest requesting one on trumpet.

2. I'm a total techie. And rather handy. Whether it's computers, cars, electronics, or random hobbies and projects around the house, if it's something mechanical or technical, I'm all over it. And if it's broken and can be fixed, I can probably take care of it. It's the mechanical engineer in me.

3. I'm a huge sports fan as well as an amateur athlete. My teams are all of the Boston area professional teams as well as the Stanford teams and of course the US national teams for the Olympics and fùtbol. I also love to play soccer and work out whenever I can, though my fitness level is admittedly inversely proportional to my course load in any given quarter . . . I also love to get outside and explore new places, either by taking a nice drive or a nice hike off to a new place. My old Porsche is awesome to drive once you show it some twisty roads.

4. I'm something of a budding world traveler; just a little while ago I went on an awesome trip with the Stanford Wind Ensemble to Italy, Slovenia and Croatia (I wonder how many people here have actually visited Slovenia or Croatia . . .), and I'm itching to see more! I've also been to France, Germany, Switzerland, and much of the east coast of the US, but there are tons of places that I have yet to see. If you have any of travel related stories of your own, please feel free to share them!

Well, I think that just about covers the basics. If you want to know more, you'll just have to shoot me a message and find out yourself!

My Match Description:

I'm looking for someone that I can build a strong friendship with, that could potentially develop into a long term relationship. I would like to be able to have a good conversation with this person (technical knowledge is a plus!). I'm also always willing to meet fellow musicians, both for jam sessions and just to hang out.

My Video